Kurt Vonnegut Classic Quotes

Standard

I am a literature aficionado or at least I think I am. I have not read many classics but from what I have been able to gather from my overtures to this sublime regime is that you don’t have to really “try” to understand literature or for that thing any art form. From great artists we derive their great devotion but we forget that there is something which is common in all of them (disclaimer: This is what Kurt Vonnegut subscribes to) is ironically they did not take it very seriously. That can be called a “lame” comment but thinking about who made this comment makes you fall in the abysmal pit of “halo effect”. You start thinking that Kurt might have noticed something peculiarly outright “un-observable” that we can’t. To this I always ponder whether quotations are a thing of only successful, renowned and mighty in their respective fields. May be , Yes !! Quotations is a regime of literature reserved for people who have something substantial to show on their resume for being regarded worthyful of entry. Introduction to the context is almost done. These are some of the quotations which moved me and simultaneously shall perform the same “prestidigitation” on you. (Get the figure of speech for god’s sake)

Courtesy of Quotes : Goodreads

“If you want to really hurt you parents, and you don’t have the nerve to be gay, the least you can do is go into the arts. I’m not kidding. The arts are not a way to make a living. They are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.”

“Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion. I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning do to do afterward.”

“Dear future generations: Please accept our apologies. We were rolling drunk on petroleum.”

“The last thing I ever wanted was to be alive when the three most powerful people on the whole planet would be named Bush, Dick and Colon.”

“Here is a lesson in creative writing. First rule: Do not use semicolons. They are transvestite hermaphrodites representing absolutely nothing. All they do is show you’ve been to college.”

“Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand.”

“I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center.”

“One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.”

“Of all the words of mice and men, the saddest are, “It might have been.”

“Being a Humanist means trying to behave decently without expectation of rewards or punishment after you are dead.”

“The only difference between Hitler and Bush is that Hitler was elected.”

“To be is to do – Socrates
To do is to be – Sartre
Do Be Do Be Do – Sinatra”

“Who is more to be pitied, a writer bound and gagged by policemen or one living in perfect freedom who has nothing more to say?”

“I have this disease late at night sometimes, involving alcohol and the telephone.” (didn’t get it ? – It’s drunk dialing)

“Where do I get my ideas from? You might as well have asked that of Beethoven. He was goofing around in Germany like everybody else, and all of a sudden this stuff came gushing out of him. It was music. I was goofing around like everybody else in Indiana, and all of a sudden stuff came gushing out. It was disgust with civilization.”

“I say in speeches that a plausible mission of artists is to make people appreciate being alive at least a little bit. I am then asked if I know of any artists who pulled that off. I reply, ‘The Beatles did.”

“Any reviewer who expresses rage and loathing for a novel is preposterous. He or she is like a person who has put on full armor and attacked a hot fudge sundae.”

“I wanted all things to seem to make some sense,
So we could all be happy, yes, instead of tense.
And I made up lies, so
they all fit nice,
and I made this sad world
a paradise”

Leave a Reply

