Lets Chew The Cud

Standard

NO I am not drunk !!

The development the world has seen over the past century in technology sector and how it has complemented the primary, secondary, tertiary and now what economists call “Quaternary” sector has been phenomenal and not too complex for a simple undergraduate like me to understand its dynamics. I while discussing the service industry prevailing in India with my good friend of mine grazed over our expectations and what the big corporations have been able to provide for us, left us amazed about how untapped is the potential market which can not only generate economical benefits but strive to elevate consumer’s experience from what I call “complacency” to what it should be – “pure satisfaction”. This is a brief preface to the upcoming detailing on what I expect from the service industry. I always expectorate (not literally) this in front of people with whom I normally engage in discussions that you have to give people not what they want but what they “really” desire but don’t really know that they “really” deserve it. Puzzled ? If not, then there is something seriously wrong with you.

The service sector holds immense potential to accelerate the growth of the economy and promote general well-being of the people. They offer innumerable business opportunities to the investors. They have the capacity to generate substantial employment opportunities in the economy as well as increase its per capita income. Without them the Indian economy would not have acquired a strong and dominating place on the world platform. Another major and upcoming sector is retail. It has been one of the fastest growing sectors both in terms of turnover and employment. Many national and global players have been investing in the retail segment and making all out efforts to further expand the sector.

The problem with me is numbers (what I saw in the data I went through in the morning regarding contribution of service industry which is as much as 70% of the GDP growth from 2002 to 2012)  don’t please me but customer reviews and experiences do. Their problems is what has to be solved is bullshit. You don’t really have to solve their problems which is not why you have seen great companies in the past come and tell you that “Oh!! You told us to make an iPhone. So take your order” – NO !! It’s creating a paradigm shift in the way things have been working around in the past few years in the country and offer them something they can’t digest. A Change which is binding on them and this “binding” is what they should like not what they should bear.

The thing which initiated the discourse was our inability to have “Sweets” or even “Beer” or even “Good Food” or even “Coffee Powder/ Sweeteners” or even “Cola” at around 5 in the morning. Now don’t start giggling over the line you just read. This makes us contemplate few very important points. The fact that we couldn’t have those things which is utter abject situation of the market according to me. I see service from a different perspective. You go to job, You earn money, You pay taxes and You go to vote (after all you still remain enfranchised even if you don’t vote). You as a social being contribute to the central structure of the economy managed by government which inexplicably acts as a cohesive force of binding such a large country together. This is a very and I repeat a very significant role played by every citizen of this country. Any one not complying with the social and monetary standards shake other’s lives. Who are these people and What do they want ?

These people are not abnormal as society calls them. These people are disillusioned with the service industry which prevails in the subcontinent as a whole. Now this is not a joke. Try and understand the point I am implying. (After all I am not a fool writing this inspite of being deprived of hours of sleep even after spending a lot of time passively smoking that soporific shit in Keshav‘s Room). I am not able to order a pizza after 11PM in the night. You call my hunger unnecessary, I call that simply “hunger” you fool. Whenever I call a customer care on phone, There kicks off a struggle one one hand to make out what he/she across is inarticulately mumbling and on the other hand making sure whether your problem falls in the specific category or not. Whenever I go over to the web, I still many times don’t succeed in finding things appropriate to what I am looking for. On Tuesdays in Gurgaon and On Mondays in Mumbai (at least in Powai), I can’t get a haircut not because barber wants to be off but because of the local industry’s “effort” to keep a day off. Whenever I want to get a product serviced, I have to repeatedly keep calling – though sometimes they are unexpectedly quick, at other times they are pathetic. They come over, tweak here and there, and what I have is a product that has no guarantee of what will happen to it next. Still there is something wrong which is not letting the gaps between customer and services bridge.

We need a company which changes the aesthetics of the Indian Market. Force people to trust your service. Give a service what they really deserve for what they are contributing to the economy at any time – any where – any thing. You understand this – You have to care for the closest ones and who are those ? Our people. Give them a good abode with services at their footsteps. I bet this is going to be a radical change of 21st century in India. Every problem stems out of the very basic assumption that “we have everything (i.e. labour force, market, resources) but we are doing nothing with it”. I ask – “What do you even mean by that when you say that ?”. The corporations in the country are trying their level “WORST” to make market dynamics complex perplexing the consumers with choices which are bizarre and uncalled for. It did not emerge from less know how about Indian consumers but it emerged from over and excessive competing which can be pernicious sometimes.

I know I am talking about something very surreal but this is what India has to adapt to in coming ages. If you don’t bash with the walls, you don’t get to know how hard are they. So it is necessary to start at deep root taluka levels ascending the treeline subsequently observing how a product’s supply chain from manufacturer’s to retailer’s (whether it is a small sweet named “Kalakand” or it is a play station sold in a super-electronic store “Croma” or a “blanket”) can be improved. How to bring at ease the issues of transport and distribution of products with the major problem people have with the plan – their Inventory. These are common cliches I keep hearing in such dialects. I shall end up with words of Bob Dylan’s song Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door (Please Knock on heaven’s door is my appeal to you all)-

Mama, take this badge off of me
I can’t use it anymore.
It’s gettin’ dark, too dark for me to see
I feel like I’m knockin’ on heaven’s door.

One response »

  1. 😀 Keshav’s fags can sometimes have artistic effects apparently!

    Nicely written. Although I would suggest instead of ranting, you could structure it a little bit more so that the point comes across more effectively. Unless, it’s your style! 😉

Leave a Reply

